During March and April pass photos are taken and pass are
issued at the Pebble Creek office.
Forgot My Pass
Due to widespread abuse, no more "I Forgot My
Pass" day tickets will be issued. If you forget your
pass you will have to purchase a day ticket or go back and
get your season pass.
Your pass must be displayed at all times. Your
pass must be shown each time board on a lift.
All pass holders are to
abide by all warnings, rules, the NSAA
Skier/Snowboarder Responsibility Code,
the Smart-Style Terrain Safety Code
and the Idaho Skier/Snowboarder's
Responsibility Act (Idaho Code Title 6, Chapter
11). Any misconduct including, but not limited to
infractions of the above acts and/or codes, reckless
skiing/boarding, abusive language or improper lift use can
result in revocation of your pass without refund.
Season pass holders who are caught committing pass fraud
will have their season pass privileges revoked. If
caught, the pass holder can purchase another pass at the
regular price but will be ineligible to purchase a
discounted pass in March. Committing pass fraud is
considered theft of services and is punishable by law.
Criminal charges may be filed for pass fraud.
If your pass is lost, season pass holders are allowed one
"Replacement" season pass for a fee of $40.
If the pass is lost a second time, then the pass holder may
re-purchase a season pass at their original purchase price.
Season pass holders can apply to extend their pass to a
subsequent season in situations involving medical
conditions, injury, surgery or pregnancy. All
extensions require documentation such us a letter from a
physician stating the date of injury or disability.
For injuries /illnesses that occur before January 31, the
pass will be extended in full.
For injuries/illnesses occurring in February, the pass
holder can request to purchase a pass for the following
season at half price.
There is no extension for injures/illnesses occurring in
All documentation must be received during the current season
and the season pass returned.
Season pass holders can transfer a current pass ONLY if it
has not been issued. There is a $25 processing fee.
The pass holder must request in writing to whom the pass
should be transferred.
Season pass holders who move out of the community can apply
for a full or prorated refund based on the following
restrictions. All request must be made prior to
December 1st. If the season pass has not been issued,
a full refund less a $25 processing fee may be
requested. If the pass has been issued, 1/2 of the
purchase price may be requested and the previously issued
pass must be returned along with the request prior to